Heather Lamb

Starting Kindergarten this year..need advice!

Heather Lamb

Hello I am new to South Carolina and i am going to be homeschooling my children. My son turned 5 in December so will be starting kindergarten this year. I have a few questions i need straight answers to. (i have read alot of different information and I am very confused) 

1. Do I have to let the school district know I will be homeschooling?

2. Is there any forms for the state i need to submit besides signing up for an accountability group? 

3. Can I start anytime for the school year, as long as I have 180 days present in homeschool? 

Thank you so much in advance for helping. Things are so different in this state and I don't know too many homeschooling families. 

--Heather--

Dianna

Hi Heather,

Welcome to SC and to homeschooling! :)

If you register with a homeschool association, you don't need to contact the school district. If you sign a kindergarten waiver at your local school district, then you'll have contact with them. Here's a link to our homeschool law with info about the kindergarten waiver: http://www.carolinahomeschooler.com/homeschool-faqs/sc-homeschool-law/

If you register with a homeschool association, there are no forms to submit to the state (and no contact with them).

I recommend you register with an association by the time school starts in your area. You have to be "counted" somewhere, and if you're not, you're considered truant.

You can start at any time (but register before school starts in your area). My philosophy is we learn 365 days a year - you're just required to document 180 of those days.

Let me know if you have any other questions. Here's a link to my main FAQ page, too: http://www.carolinahomeschooler.com/homeschool-faqs/

Warmly,
Dianna

kohlby

Since your child will be legal kindergarten age, you have more options than you would for a child legal first grade age and up as mentioned above.