• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 TaylorsMom

TaylorsMom

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 September 2013 - 04:12 PM

I am new to homeschooling- my daughter is in 1st grade and we started a week ago-has anyone used the A Beka curriculum?

#2 Christylou

Christylou

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 07 September 2013 - 07:46 PM

Yes, I used A beka for kindergarten and I am currently using it for first grade as well :)

#3 Dianna

Dianna

Chocoholic

• Administrators
  • 1,609 posts
  • LocationSouth Carolina

Posted 08 September 2013 - 11:21 AM

I've never used it. If you choose this curriculum, remember that it's developed for classroom use and teachers can pick and choose what material they want to use with their students. Individual homeschooling families don't have to complete every page, every worksheet, and/or every test. Make it fit your student instead of your student fit it (the publishers don't know your student, you do!).

Whenever I get an email about homeschool burnout/dropout, it's usually because the family is using a "school-in-a-box" curriculum (like A Beka and others) and is trying to make their student(s) fit it, instead of the other way around.

Warmly,

Dianna

#4 Laura Launius

Laura Launius

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 12 September 2013 - 12:48 PM