• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Jennlee

Jennlee

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 December 2013 - 11:19 AM

I am brand new to homeschooling and need help finding a curriculum for high school 9th grade. This will be our first time attempting homeschooling, and I am a little overwhelmed by all the options. I would like to find an online curriculum that is not too expensive. We are doing the homeschool option because of health issues so we don't have a big budget sadly. I have looked at several different sites and have found some reasonable ones around $ 300 for the 4 big courses (math, English, science, and social studies). If you have any suggestions from personal experience or at least a site that will allow me to see more options that would be awesome. Please help! We live in Sc btw.

#2 Dianna

Dianna

Chocoholic

• Administrators
  • 1,173 posts
  • LocationSouth Carolina

Posted 11 December 2013 - 12:06 PM

Hi Jenn,

Welcome to our forum and to homeschooling! :)

There are so many more choices for curriculum now than there was when I started over 20 years ago. Choice is good, but it can be overwhelming and stressful for new homeschoolers.

I don't have personal experience with any online programs, but hopefully other members have and will jump in to help. We tend to use relaxed, experiential-based resources (books, magazines, trips, real-life applications like 4-H for my daughter who is interested in raising chickens and actual investing with my son who is interested in economics/stocks/investing).

If you'd like to research different ways to homeschool, I have a guide available that talks about the different methods and resources that are favorites for my members. (Several hundred homeschoolers answered a survey and I compiled their answers.) It's available in paperback, ebook, and audiobook (if you visit my website, just click the links under the picture of my book, choosing your preferred format).