• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 4andnomore

4andnomore

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 March 2014 - 05:37 PM

I was curious if anyone had been to/is going to the Greenville Homeschool Convention??  If you've been before, what do you recommend for newbies?

#2 cato

cato

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 04 March 2014 - 08:08 PM

I am going! I am a Newbie too :) This has been our first year homeschooling for 5k and can't wait to look at some curriculum ideas im thinking about for 1st grade. Looking forward to some great speakers and hope to learn a lot so Im excited!
  • Dianna and 4andnomore like this

#3 Dana

Dana

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 12:24 PM

We've attended two years.

Michael Clay Thompson is an EXCELLENT speaker. His vocabulary presentation is really cool.

My son enjoyed Ed Zaccaro's math lectures.

Be sure to save time for the exhibit hall. It'll be CROWDED.

Most vendors have been set up to accept credit cards, so if there are things you want to buy, have a plan of attack and a limit on your spending.

I've also enjoyed hearing Chris Perrin speak (Latin for Children)

Have fun!

#4 kohlby

kohlby

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 03:24 PM

I'm going this year. A key would be to go through the list beforehand. It's huge so go through, as some sessions won't be helpful to you and others will. The speakers that I'm most interested in wouldn't meet the needs of someone focusing on a kindy kid for example. So, if you want speaker suggestions, let us know the grades of the children, if you use secular or religious, and if you have a particular homeschool style and maybe people similar to you will have some ideas.

#5 4andnomore

4andnomore

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 March 2014 - 10:44 AM