• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Nikki Massey Hall

Nikki Massey Hall

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 11:15 AM

I'm new to this , and I'd be lying if I said I wasn't terrified. I'm almost certain I'm not doing much of anything correct. I'd love to get to know some other families around the Columbia area that homeschool, too. We just moved here and I don't know anyone.

#2 Dianna

Dianna

Chocoholic

• Administrators
  • 1,589 posts
  • LocationSouth Carolina

Posted 05 March 2014 - 11:19 AM

Hi Nikki, and welcome! :)

I don't live in the Columbia area, but many of my members do. I'll round up the troops and ask them to post in here.

Warmly,

Dianna

#3 Kristie Boyd Hunter

Kristie Boyd Hunter

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 11:51 AM

Hi Nikki!  I am in the NE area of Columbia.  I don't think any of us feel like we're doing it "right" at first.  The great thing about homeschooling is that there's really no right or wrong way to do it, you just have to figure out what works for you and your child(ren).  

If you're interested, we have a small group of homeschoolers in the NE area that I'm a part of.  As long as it's ok with Dianna, I'd be glad to give you the link to our facebook page if you're interested!  Good luck!

• Nikki Massey Hall likes this

#4 Dana

Dana

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 05 March 2014 - 12:30 PM

We're in REACH for support - inclusive group.

You can also meet people at the state museum's homeschool classes (check out homeschool Fridays & be sure to preregister) and Columbia Historical Society's classes.

There are also classes at Riverbanks Zoo and the Art Museum, although there have been changes to them & I'm not sure how good they are anymore.

#5 Dianna

Dianna

Chocoholic

• Administrators
  • 1,589 posts
  • LocationSouth Carolina

Posted 05 March 2014 - 12:48 PM

Kristie, it's fine to post the link - please do!

Warmly,

Dianna

#6 Dianna