#1 Frank Hodges

Frank Hodges

Frank Hodges

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationColumbia, South Carolina

Posted 19 March 2014 - 03:21 PM

At Dianna's suggestion, I am starting a 'thread'....I am not new to 'education' (been teaching in public schools for a long time), but I am new to homeschooling.  I am, now, homeschooling my 6th grade daughter - and, probably will through high school.  I am interested in hearing from the dads out there.  I am sure it is a 'little' different for men to be the lead in their child(ren)'s education.  Feel free to reply here, or e-mail me at frankhdgs@gmail.com .....

• Dianna likes this

#2 Ryan Chapman

Ryan Chapman

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 April 2014 - 07:04 PM

Oh yes it is, much different, some meeting groups look at you like you have three heads because your not female and your the sahp and homeschool teacher.

• Frank Hodges likes this

#3 Dianna

Dianna

Chocoholic

• Administrators
  • 1,599 posts
  • LocationSouth Carolina

Posted 28 April 2014 - 11:27 PM

Frank and Ryan, I don't think you would feel out of place on most (maybe all) of my field trips and events. There are quite a few dads who always bring the kids to our events, even if the moms are the primary instructors. :)

Warmly,

Dianna

#4 Rickeyd53

Rickeyd53

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:40 AM

I am raising two grandsons, one 15 who is in highschool, 10th grade and one 14 who will be entering 8th grade this school year.  My wife and I have just retired and am tired of the way the schools treat the boys and then of course the problems that are in the schools.  We are going to give this a try because we want the best for the boys.  I spent 20 years in the Army and then another 22 years with the federal government with the US Courts and Homeland Security.  Please feel free to contact me would like to chat since I am starting out with home schooling.

#5 Frank Hodges

Frank Hodges

Frank Hodges

• Members
  • Pip