I will homeschooling my son for the first time this year due to concerns over covid. He is 8 years old, incredibly smart and a PERFECT child at school. He would be entering gifted & talented this year, has always been far beyond his age and I have never had one single behavioral incident at school the entire 5 years he has been in school. As a matter of fact, I am told repeatedly how he is a model student.

But when he comes home, he is very difficult for me. Doesn’t want to listen at all, irritates his brother, disrespectful, etc. 

How am I supposed to homeschool him? He gives me and his father a run for his money ever single day. I’m honestly terrified of the stress it will cause me.

any experience or advice welcomed. 

dawnmyers

Hi Mama K,

I am not a homeschooling expert, we are only going into year 3 at home... however, I do have 3 energetic, advanced learner type boys. In our house, this kind of behavior takes place when they are bored. Have you considered more hands-on learning activities? Moving reading or math or whatever subject you are working on outdoors to change up the scenery? Practicing times tables while bike riding or shooting hoops while discussing a book? A Friday field trip to celebrate a week of respectful behavior and thoughtful learning? Have you heard of Julie Bogart at Brave Writer? She has good ideas and positive encouragement. I've utilized some of her strategies on a tough day!

Hope that helps a little!

Smiles,

Dawn

• Like 1
Jennygwen1

Sorry, I did it twice.  I'm not sure how to delete posts here. :)  Here is my post!